Legal Recording Requirements
Documents must be clearly legible and capable of producing a legible microfilmed or scanned image of the record.
Names Under Signature
Names must be printed or typed under all signatures except notaries and witnesses.
Documents affecting title to real property must be properly acknowledged and have a legible, valid notary seal.
Documents should be identified as to the type of document and dated.
All documents should have a grantor and grantee.
Drafted by Name and Address
Statute (507.091) requires the name and address of the party who drafted the document. EXCEPTIONS: Subdivision 1 does not apply to any instrument executed before January 1, 1970, nor to a decree, order, judgment or writ of any court, a will or death certificate, nor to any instrument executed or acknowledged outside of the state.
Deed Tax or Mortgage Registration Tax, please see the Auditor/Treasurer’s Office website (Link)
An Electronic Certificate of Real Estate Value (eCRV) is required by the State of Minnesota when recording a document that transfers property with a purchase price that is more than $1,000. The Minnesota Department of Revenue (MN DOR) will require you to create an Electronic Certificate of Real Estate Value (eCRV) effective October 1, 2014. The eCRV number you receive from the MN DOR must be shown on the deed or contract for deed when the deed comes to the county for recording.
Note: You may hire an Abstract/Title Company or an attorney to fill out the eCRV for you or you can do it yourself online on the website for the MN DOR (Link). The Auditor/Treasurer’s Office also offers this service for a fee. Please contact Auditor/Treasurer’s Office at (218) 547-7260 to find out more.
Septic disclosure is required at the time of recording pursuant to County Ordinance - Failure to provide septic disclosure at the time of recording will not hold up recording but will result in coding this property as non-compliant and no permits will be issued by Environmental Services Dept. (ESD) until it is brought into compliance. If it is made compliant after recording the deed, you will need to record a Satisfaction of the Non-Compliance from ESD at an additional cost of $46.00 for the recording fee for the Satisfaction.
(Requirements for Septic Disclosure per County Ordinance)